New Member looking for CVT swap info

Reaction score
Howdy all!

I just picked up a 2015 Forester in nice shape but with a dead CVT. It is the TR580. The car starts and runs fine, but will barely move under its own power. It also appears to have been towed or dragged while in PARK, because it will not remain stationary in PARK. With the engine off and the shifter in park, it will roll and make a terrible clattering sound from the trans. I'm thinking the parking pawl was probably sheared or the gear that it engages was broken. Not sure, haven't torn it open yet.

I'm here to explore my options, i.e.--

1. Swap with another used Forester CVT.
2. Swap with another TR580 from another vehicle (Legacy, Outback, etc)
3. Swap with a 6-spd manual from a Forester
4. Rebuild the existing CVT myself.
5. OR, something you might suggest that I haven't thought of?

I'm an experienced DIY mechanic with a shop and lift and I've rebuilt some trans and engines. I've been wrenching on everything from helicopters (USAF mechanic) to snowmobiles, motorcycles, cars, trucks, and tractors for over 40 years. My Subaru experience is limited...I rebuilt my wrecked 1985 GL-10 sedan that my sister ran into a telephone pole in a snowstorm in 1991. What I definitely lack is a knowledge of CVT compatibility between different Subaru models.

Thanks for letting me pick your brains and listen to your suggestions.

I just picked up a 2015 Forester in nice shape but with a dead CVT. It is the TR580. The car starts and runs fine, but will barely move under its own power. It also appears to have been towed or dragged while in PARK, because it will not remain stationary in PARK. With the engine off and the shifter in park, it will roll and make a terrible clattering sound from the trans. I'm thinking the parking pawl was probably sheared or the gear that it engages was broken. Not sure, haven't torn it open yet.

I'm here to explore my options, i.e.--

1. Swap with another used Forester CVT.